Home - Humanities : Year 9 - History - World War 1 - MacKillop Library Libguides at Prendiville Catholic College

Books @Your MacKillop Library

This is a selection of relevant Non Fiction titles available from MacKillop Library.

World War I by Jane Gould
Call Number: 940.4 GOU
Assassination to War pp 4-8; World War 1 at Gallipoli
World War I 1914-1918 by Nicolas Brasch
Call Number: 940.3 BRA
Causes of World War 1 pp 4-6; Treaty of Versailles pp 38-40; The End of the War (Armistice) pp 36-38; Gallipoli pp 20-22
Living through World War I by Nicola Barber
Call Number: 940.3 Bar
Includes - The War's origins - The Schlieffen Plan
Causes and consequences: World War One by Simon Adams
Call Number: 940.3 ADA
Includes Alliances pp 8-10; Assassination of Archduke Ferdinand pp 12-13; The Schlieffen Plan pp 14-15; Major battles and Peace Treaties.
World War I by Andrew Benjamin; Enzo George
Call Number: 940.3 GEO
Includes- Life in the Trenches , Gallipoli, The Schlieffen Plan,
Eyewitness to the Treaty of Versailles by Nick Rebman
Call Number: 940.3 REB
Eyewitness to the Assassination of Archduke Francis Ferdinand by Emily O'Keefe
Call Number: 940.3 OKE
World War I by Simon Adams
Call Number: 940.3 ADA
Discover the misery of life in the trenches - and how the Great War in devastated Europe
What Caused World War I? by Robyn Hardyman
Call Number: 940.311 HAR
World War I by Natalie Hyde
Call Number: 940.311 HYD
ANZAC by Paul Cupper and Phil Taylor
Call Number: 940.426 CUP
ISBN: 9780074712405
includes Trench Warfare, Gallipoli
Great Battles in Australian History by Jonathan King; Steve Gower (Foreword by)
Call Number: 994.04 Kin
Includes Gallipoli - landing, Lone Pine, ANZAC legend
Australians at War by Peter Cochrane
Call Number: 994.04 COC
Australian Aboriginal contributions pp77, 97, 167; includes Gallipoli
On the Home Front by Jenny Gregory (Editor)
Call Number: 994.1042 ONT
Includes - The role of Kimberley Aborigines in the War p 138

Websites: Causes of WWI : M.A.I.N

.CAUSES OF WORLD WAR I
CAUSES OF WORLD WAR I
World War I occurred between July 1914 and November 11, 1918. By the end of the war, over 17 million people would
be killed including over 100,000 American troops. The reason why war erupted is actually much more complicated than
a simple list of causes. While there was a chain of events that directly led to the fighting, the actual root causes are much
deeper and part of continued debate and discussion. This list is an overview of the most popular reasons that are cited
as the root causes of World War 1.
The 4 M-A-I-N Causes Of World War One
The M-A-I-N acronym is often used to analyse the war – militarism, alliances, imperialism and nationalism. It’s simplistic but provides a useful framework.
Major Causes of World War I
One way to remember the FOUR main causes of World War I is to
remember the acronym M – A – I – N. (M = Militarism, A = Alliances, I =
Imperialism, and N = Nationalism.)

Database Articles : Causes of WWI - M.A.I.N - if required User name: prendcc1100 - pw: elau

Causes of World War I
In 1914 the world was plunged into a war that lasted four years and cost tens of millions of lives. The long-term causes were rooted in events of the late 19th century and early 20th century. The short-term causes related to the events of summer 1914.

YouTube : Causes of WWI : M.A.I.N

Websites : Assassination of Archduke Ferdinand

Assassination of Archduke Ferdinand, 1914
Two bullets fired on a Sarajevo street on a sunny June morning in 1914 set in motion a series of events that shaped the world we live in today. World War One.
Franz Ferdinand Biography Duke (1863–1914)
Franz Ferdinand (1863-1914) was born in Graz, Austria. As the heir to the Austro-Hungarian empire his assassination on 28 June 1914 sparked the First World War.
JUN 26, 2014 The Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, 100 Years Ago
The assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, heir to the Austro-Hungarian throne, and his wife Sophie in Sarajevo (the capital of the Austro-Hungarian province of Bosnia-Herzegovina) on 28 June 1914 eventually led to the outbreak of the First World War.

Database Articles : Assissination of Archduke Ferdinand

First World War: Day One: The road to war: Archduke Franz Ferdinand shot dead by student: Assassination crisis
The Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austria, nephew of the aged emperor and heir to the throne, was assassinated in the streets of Sarajevo, the Bosnian capital, yesterday afternoon
The Road to War
Gavrilo Princip, the 19-year-old assassin, was a Bosnian nationalist who opposed the domination of the Balkans by the Austro-Hungarian Empire. He had received his weapon from a secret society known as the "Black Hand," which was clandestinely controlled by the government of Serbia. Princip died of mistreatment in an Austrian prison in 1918.

You Tube : Assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand

Websites : The Schlieffen Plan

The Schlieffen Plan
The Schlieffen Plan was created by General Count Alfred von Schlieffen in December 1905. The Schlieffen Plan was the operational plan for a designated attack on France once Russia, in response to international tension, had started to mobilise her forces near the German border. The execution of the Schlieffen Plan led to Britain declaring war on Germany on August 4th, 1914.
What Was the Schlieffen Plan?
The Schlieffen plan was a battle plan that was proposed by Alfred, graf (count) von Schlieffen in 1905, which suggested that Germany could win a quick Franco-German war while fending of Russia.
Was Germany Doomed in World War I by the Schlieffen Plan?
The Schlieffen Plan, devised a decade before the start of World War I, outlined a strategy for Germany to avoid fighting at its eastern and western fronts simultaneously.

Database Articles: The Schlieffen Plan

Schlieffen's Perfect Plan
The heavily analyzed Schlieffen Plan was the perfect invasion strategy, and the hardworking officers of the German General Staff knew it.
The Planning of the War
Much is made of the German Schlieffen Plan and, to a lesser extent, the French Plan XVII. But what of Austria-Hungary's Plan B and Russia's Plan 19? This article details the primary aims of each of these plans, and discusses the rationale behind them.

You Tube : The Schlieffen Plan

Websites : Trench Warfare

Life in the Trenches of World War I
Includes Video: Trenches—long, deep ditches dug as protective defenses—are most often associated with World War I, and the results of trench warfare in that conflict were hellish indeed.
Trench Warfare - Hell on Earth
It wasn't until the First World War that fixed trench warfare became the standard form of fighting. The trench system along the Western Front ran for approximately 475 miles, in an "S" shape across Europe, from the North Sea to Switzerland.
What was life like in a World War One trench?
On the Western Front, the war was fought by soldiers in trenches.
Trenches were long, narrow ditches dug into the ground where soldiers lived.

Database Articles - Trench Warfare

In the Trenches
The trenches were so gruesome that it took more than two years to exhume the dead from no-man's-land and bury them in rows.
The art of trench warfare
The trenches were areas of safety, and to go above ground was to invite eternal ownership of a white cross. Zigzagging across the continent like angry scars, the trenches of the Western Front cut their way through 700 kilometres of countryside, from the border of Switzerland to the Belgian coast on the North Sea.

YouTube - Trench Warfare

Websites : Gallipoli

Battle of Gallipoli
The Gallipoli Campaign was a military defeat, but the battles fought on Gallipoli established the military reputation of the original Anzacs.
Dawn of the Legend: The Anzac spirit
The legend of Anzac was born on 25 April 1915, and was reaffirmed in eight months' fighting on Gallipoli. Although there was no military victory, the Australians displayed great courage, endurance, initiative, discipline, and mateship. Such qualities came to be seen as the Anzac spirit.

Database Articles : Gallipoli

Gallipoli Campaign
An Allied army of a half million men, many of them from Australia and New Zealand, landed at a handful of beaches on the Gallipoli Peninsula in the largest amphibious invasion in history.
Gallipoli evacuation
In the months that followed a gruelling trench war was fought without a breakthrough and eventually, in the face of mounting public opinion against the campaign, the decision was made to evacuate the troops. That evacuation, which began in December 1915, was perhaps the only masterfully planned part of the battle, with casualties kept to a minimum.

You Tube : Gallipolli

Books @Your MacKillop Library:

A History of Australia : Vol 8 by Stephen Gard
Call Number: 994.04 GAR
Includes : The ANZACS and Aboriginal diggers.
Gallipoli Diaries by Jonathan King
Call Number: 940.426 KIN
ANZAC - The Landing p23; Sending Lambs to Slaughter at Lone Pine. p133; Retreating with Honour p 237
World War I : the definitive visual guide : from Sarajevo to Versailles by R.G. Grant
Call Number: 940.3 GRA
Moments in History - Why Did World War I Happen? by R. G. Grant
Call Number: 940.3 GRA
Why Do We Remember?: Remembrance Day by Izzi Howell
Call Number: 940.439 HOW
The End of World War I by Alan Swayze
Call Number: 940.3141 SWA
The Treaty of Versailles and it's Tragic Legacy
World war I 1914-1918 : In the Trenches by Adam Powley
Call Number: 940.3 POW
The ANZAC Spirit : Australian Soldiers at war since 1915 by Michael Andrews
Call Number: 940.4 AND
Gallipoli : 25 April 1915 - 9 January 1916 by Major Julian Thompson
Call Number: 940.426 THO
Includes the Landing , Lone Pine, evacuating
A century of ANZACS by Jason K. Foster ed.
Call Number: 940.426 CEN
World War 1 (1914-1918); Battle of Lone Pine; The Somme; Passchendaele
The Landing at ANZAC 1915 by Chris Roberts
Call Number: 940.426 ROB
Weapons of World War I by Matt Doeden
Call Number: 623.409041 DOE
Battle in the trenches chapter 1 pp4-8

Websites : Major Battles _ The Somme, Verdun and Passchendaele

Battles - The Western Front
This section contains summaries of the actions, battles and offensives conducted along the Western Front from 1914-18.
Included are the tremendous offensives at Verdun and the Somme,
Battle of Passchendaele (Third Ypres)
Many would afterwards call this offensive, actually a series of battles, after the name of the village that had become the last objective – 'Passchendaele'.
Battle of Verdun
Only the World War I Western Front could have produced the rationale for the Battle of Verdun. In his so-called Christmas Memo of 1915, Erich von Falkenhayn, the chief of the German General Staff, made a uniquely cynical proposal: not to take territory but to take lives, to cause the French army to “bleed to death” defending the fortress complex around Verdun on the Meuse heights.
Battle of the Somme
The Battle of the Somme, also known as the Somme Offensive, was one of the largest battles of the First World War. Fought between July 1 and November 1, 1916, near the Somme River in France, it was also one of the bloodiest military battles in history.

YouTube : Major Battles

Websites: Australian Aboriginals and their contribution to World War I

Indigenous defence service
First World War
Over 1000 Indigenous Australians fought in the First World War. They came from a section of society with few rights, low wages, and poor living conditions. Most Indigenous Australians could not vote and none were counted in the census. But once in the AIF, they were treated as equals. They were paid the same as other soldiers and generally accepted without prejudice.
A brief history of Indigenous Australians at War
In the first half of the 20th century non-Europeans officially were barred from serving in Australia’s armed forces but during World War I approximately 500 Aborigines and a few Torres Strait Islanders managed to enlist.
Indigenous Australian soldiers in First World War
Exactly 100 years after the first Australian soldiers arrived in the Mediterranean for training and combat in the First World War, the British Council's Amber McCulloch explains what it meant for Aboriginal Australian and Torres Strait Islander soldiers to fight alongside their mates for a country of which they were not yet considered citizens.

Database Articles : Australian Aboriginals and their contribution to World War I

Aboriginals' significant role in WWI revealed
Canberra-based historian David Huggonson, who has spent 20 years researching the Aboriginal contribution to Australia's military campaigns, announced his findings yesterday

YouTube : Australian Aboriginal contributions to WW1

Websites : The Armistice and remembering WW!

Why World War I Ended With an Armistice Instead of a Surrender
On the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918, the incessant boom of artillery abruptly went silent along the Western Front in France.
What was the Armistice?
The Armistice was the ceasefire that ended hostilities between the Allies and Germany on the 11th of November 1918. The Armistice did not end the First World War itself, but it was the agreement which stopped the fighting on the Western Front while the terms of the permanent peace were discussed.
Remembrance Day
Includes links to :
The First World War
Remembrance Day traditions
The Unknown Soldier
Modern pilgrimages
Remembrance Day fast facts
Origins of Remembrance Day
Why is this day special to Australians?
At 11 am on 11 November 1918 the guns on the Western Front fell silent after more than four years of continuous warfare.

Database Articles ; The Armistice and Remembering WW1

THE DAY THE GUNS FELL QUIET
It was the treaty that ended the war to end all wars. Now, in the lead up to the centenary of the World War I Armistice, ELLEN WHINNETT and DOMANII CAMERON report from Compiègne, France, on how the deal was struck and the legacy of those who made the ultimate sacrifice
100 YEARS OF PRIDE AND PAIN
In a silent forest cloaked by the red of autumn, the leaders of Germany and France will this week walk together down a path between two old railway tracks. It was here, on a misty morning 100 years ago, that the deal was signed to bring an end to World War 1.

YouTube : The Armstice and Remembering WW1

Websites : Treaty of Versailles

Treaty of Versailles
After four years of devastating fighting, the First World War came to an end in 1919 in Versailles. The treaty, which represented “peace” for some and a “diktat” for others, also sowed the seeds of the Second World War, which would break out twenty years later.
Treaty of Versailles 1919
Treaty of Versailles, peace document signed at the end of World War I by the Allied and associated powers and by Germany in the Hall of Mirrors in the Palace of Versailles, France, on June 28, 1919; it took force on January 10, 1920.
How the Treaty of Versailles ended WWI and started WWII
European countries dealt a harsh punishment to Germany for its role in the First World War—a move that would soon come back to haunt the world.

Database Articles : Treaty of Vesailles

Versailles, Treaty of
On June 28, 1919, on the outskirts of Paris, European dignitaries crowded into the Palace of Versailles to sign one of history’s most hated treaties. Known as the Treaty of Versailles, it formally ended World War I—and at the same time laid the foundation for the Second World War. Though it was preceded by a peace conference that lasted over a year, the treaty was disliked by every nation that signed it.
Germany and Treaty of Versailles
In 1919 representatives from the victorious powers and Germany met in the French Palace of Versailles, where the Treaty of Versailles was signed. It laid down the terms for Germany's surrender and defeat.

YouTube : The Treaty of Versailles

Assessment

PDF document and Video: Lest We Forget

Lest We Forget
Interrogating the ANZAC story is always going to be
difficult because it occupies such a central place in the
Australian national narrative. Why is it important to learn
what really happened at Gallipoli in 1915 and on the
Western Front in 1916, 17 and 18 during wartime?

Clickview

If prompted to login use: Username: Your school email address eg., asjones@student.cewa.edu.au

Follow the story of two soldiers with very similar goals, yet their journeys turn out completely differently. It was during the time when Indigenous men were not allowed to serve due to the colour of their skin.

ClckView : Video Resources from ClickView: If prompted to login use: Username: Your school email address eg asjones@student.cewa.edu.au

Five broadcasters from across the globe are uniting to tell the tragic story of Gallipoli - from all sides. First-hand accounts describe what Gallipoli looked, felt and smelled like, and remarkable 3D images bring these scenes to life.

One of the most notorious killing fields of WWI – Passchendaele. We walk where the battalions fought and where the artillery sank in liquid mud. In the midst of the battle one of Australia’s greatest soldiers, then Lieutenant Colonel Leslie Morshead, wrote “things are bloody, very bloody”. The losses were enormous – on October 12th the New Zealand Division lost 2,800 men, the bloodiest day in that country’s military history.

Databases: For additional research check out these databases.

Britannica Online Encyclopedia
0
Clickview
0
eLibrary:- Login: prendcc1100. Password: elau
Login: prendcc1100. Password: elau

Humanities : Year 9 - History - World War 1: Home

Referencing Guides