Science : Year 9 - Earthquake - Resistant Infrastructure: Assessment

Look at the science: the facts, the timeline and the physical causes and effects of the earthquake. Why was the disaster in Haiti unique? How did it compare to other earthquakes? And how long will the clean-up take?

Information on how quakes happen, describes their human costs and explains efforts to monitor and predict them. Includes diagrams and information on major quakes - Lisbon in 1975 and Mexico City in 1985.

Information on the structure of earth and how earthquakes happen - faults and epicentres, the science behind seismographs, how earthquakes cause tsunamis - and the challenges faced by scientists trying to predict them.

Our planet shakes with over one thousand earthquakes every day. The strongest ones destroy buildings, roads and lives. They trigger killer waves called tsunamis. What causes earthquakes? Learn more about earthquakes with thirteen fun experimentsyou can do. As well you can build models of faults and study earthquake-proof structures, and even try to predict the next "big one".

Information on the science behind earthquakes, why they happen, their effects, and how scientists are working to predict or prevent it.

Information on the theory of plate tectonics, the Great Rift Valley, the nature, causes and effects of earthquakes, tsunamis, the richter scale, Mount Fuji, magma, lava, geysers and Krakatoa.

Easy reading information on earthquakes and tsunamis.

Describes the experiences of people who have witnessed some of history's most powerful earthquakes. Learn about the reasons that earthquakes happen, and examine the tragic and devastating impact that Japan's 2011 earthquake had on the country.

Some of the biggest disasters seen close up using dramatic images, firsthand survivor stories and latest facts and figures. Includes information on what causes earthquakes, maps of the earth's tectonic plates, disaster zones, the Mercalli Scale formeasuring earthquake intensity, rescuers tasks, scientific earthquake predicting, changes in building design to withstand damage and a timeline.

Earth structure, plate tectonics, plate boundaries and transform faults, convergent margins, earthquakes, earthquake hazards, prediction and descriptions of earthquake disasters including Kobe 1995 and Sumatra 2004.

Information on earthquakes, what they are, how they're caused, how they can be predicted and how we can stay safe.

Information on the science behind earthquakes, the effects on communities and the environment, warning systems and measuring technologies, and the disaster relief implemented. Includes Pakistan 2005, San Andreas Fault, Richter Scale, Chile 1960, Liquefaction, Peru 1970, and Indonesia 2004.

Includes facts, science experiments, craft ideas on bridges.

Information on the history of bridge building and marvel at the engineering accomplishments that will give us safe and sustainable bridges into the future.

Information on the design and building of bridges including some designs that worked and some that didn't.

Informatoin on Australia's bridges - why and how they were built and what life was like in Australia at the time. Includes the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Story Bridge, Tasman Bridge, Westgate Bridge, and the Hindmarsh Bridge.

Contains the stories of the design and construction of some of Australia's major feats of engineering. Includes the Sydney Harbour Bridge, Story Bridge, Tasman Bridge, Westgate Bridge, Hindmarsh Bridge, Bridges snapshot, bridges at a glance

Every structure that touches the ground could benefit from the skills of a geotechnical engineer. Resible. This book introduces key concepts and the engineering design process with interesting examples from the field. A hands on activity and a design challenge engage readers in engineering action.

Information on civil engineers who are involved in the design and construction of various structures including high rise buildings, sports stadiums, canals, dams and bridges. How they do their jobs and the steps they follow in the engineering designprocess. Design challenge - create your own stable structure.

Describes the nature and measurement of earthquakes and the devastation that they can cause on land and sea, including the giant seismic waves known as tsunamis.

Due to its position on a faultline, where two of the massive tectonic plates that compose the earth's Indo-Australian Plate. Where they meet along the Tonga-Kermadec fault line to the north of New Zealand, the Indo-Australian Plate tends to over-ride the Pacific Plate, while to the south along the Macquarie fault line the reverse occurs. These huge plates constantly grind and buckle against each other. Usually this activity is very slow and gradual but occasionally, as a result of the enormous pressure that builds up there are sudden violent movements that causes earthquakes.

With fascinating experiments, models, and demonstrations, this scientific survey provides a vivid exploration of natural phenomena. Ideal for budding earth scientists, this in-depth resource demonstrates how to build a seismograph to record a simulated earthquake, compare pressure waves and shear waves-the two types of ground shocks-with a Slinky, and replicate a tsunami's destructive effect on a "coastline" built in a bathtub. The chapters include: how to earthquake-proof homes, protect oneself during a tremor, and construct simple models to test seismographs.